Home > POLITICS > Syria – Most Islamic countries against intervention in Syria

Syria – Most Islamic countries against intervention in Syria

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Laaska News  August  16,  2012

The majority of the Islamic countries oppose outside military intervention in Syria, Secretary General of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu said after the OIC summit in Mecca, attended by 56 Islamic countries.
At the same time, the OIC decided to suspend Syria’s membership.

According to UN estimates, about 17,000 people have been killed in the ongoing conflict in Syria since last March.

Damascus says it is confronted by well-armed militants receiving aid from outside forces.

Russia fears that military intervention will lead to the escalation of the conflict.

Russian statement condemning Damascus blast fails to win UN approval


The UN Security Council has failed to agree upon a Russian-proposed statement condemning the latest explosion in near a Damascus hotel where UN observers are staying.

The statement posted on Twitter describes the blast as a terrorist attack and calls on the council’s member states to condemn it in the most resolute form.

Russia prepared two versions of the document. The first one raised objections from Germany, Portugal and Britain, and the second one was again opposed by Britain.

Moscow has repeatedly called on the UN Security Council to express condemnation of terrorist acts staged by the Syrian opposition.
Organization of Islamic Cooperation suspends Syria’s membership

Gathered in the holy city of Mecca for a two-day Extraordinary Islamic Solidarity Summit, the leaders confirmed suspension of Syria’s membership in the international body. This information is contained in the final statement of the summit.

Participants also stressed the need to preserve the integrity of Syria, and accused its leaders of “killing thousands of innocent civilians”.

The Organization of Islamic Cooperation was founded in September 1969 to ensure Islamic solidarity in the social, economic and political spheres. It comprises 57 member-countries.